Although a first DWI technically references a situation where the defendant has never before been convicted of DWI, it most likely involves a defendant that has never before been arrested for anything (much less convicted). And it is the most common charge in Texas.
DWI is a serious offense. If convicted, the defendant can face up to 180 days in jail and up to a $2,000 fine (these punishments double if the State can show an alcohol test of at least 0.15). In addition, Texas statutorily prohibits deferred adjudication community supervision (a type of probation that avoids a conviction) in DWI cases. Straight probation involving a conviction is available, but its conditions can be onerous: missing work or school, paying fees, taking classes, performing community service, avoiding alcohol and drugs, driving with an ignition interlock device, serving days in jail, etc. A conviction for DWI often triggers another driver’s license suspension with expensive surcharges following the suspension as well as increased insurance rates. If ever arrested again, subsequent arrests will be treated even more seriously because of the prior DWI conviction.
It is imperative that you hire a competent criminal defense attorney skilled in DWI cases within a week after your arrest. The lawyers at Shellist Peebles McAlister LLP are former prosecutors that work together to give clients a superior position in their DWI cases. They are licensed to practice law in every Texas courtroom. With nearly 60 years of combined legal experience, the lawyers at Shellist Peebles McAlister LLP will thoroughly investigate every aspect of your DWI case and will go to trial when necessary, holding the State of Texas to its rigid and demanding burden of proof. Contact us immediately.